edited October 2011 in Food

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • I was told the same thing with this pregnancy but not with my 1ST 2. I would go get your sub if you want it but whenever else you can heat up the meat.
  • edited June 2011
    I was told but I don't listen...lol I dnt eat deli sandwiches cold anyway but all ive been craving is hotdogs. :)

BUT I dnt encourage ignoring doctors, so get it heated.
  • I graduated nursing school (baccalaureate program) in december and we weren't told this in the L&D rotation. My dr's told me this though and it's not that it will def make you sick its bc there's a slight chance of having listeria on the meat. Steaming it or zapping it in the microwave kills any bacteria that may be on the lunchmeat. If you were to get it non-pregnant you'd get GI symptoms but baby can't fight it so that's why it's potentially dangerous. There's been nothing I've wanted more this pregnancy than a hoagie but I'm pretty sure it's bc I know I can't have cold lunchmeat :)
  • @FirstTimeMommyToBe the nurse actually said i would have to eat right after heating lol
  • @mam082711 ohh i see.. u know how subway heats sandwiches.. do u think that is hot enough to kill the bacteria? lol
  • Lmao no! 3rd pregnancy n never heard of the lunch meat BS till on pregly. Its all about common sense. Clean ur hand before handling ....don't let it sit out forever .... and don't eat old lunch meat. This new rule about lunch meat is dumb! I also still eat Dippy eggs!
  • @mshahir LOL well i don't eat turkey alot but i enjoy eating turkey sandwiches and since the nurse told me this i have been scared so i stayed away.. i made turkey sandwiches for my kids yesterday and finally broke down and ate one cold. i couldn't help it haha
  • @mshahir lol thats why i ate it yesterday it was a brandnew pack i just opened so i was like theres no way there bacteria on this. haha