when can I start juice??

edited March 2012 in Babies Health
my baby is 6 months ..im wondering when can I start giving her some watered down.juice?? Nd what kind?? How much?

Comments

• @naliibby2 I have been giving my 7mo old son juice since he was 4 months. I started out with the apple prune juice to help with constipation. But now that he is a big boy, I give him juice by itself, I don't add water to it.
  • A paper I got from WIC say's not to give juice to babies under a 1, but I'd guess watered down juice would be fine as long as it's not in a bottle, but a sippy cup.
  • I was thinkn 6 months
  • Wow really @ericak22 Wic used to give juice starting at 4months.
  • @Steph_Due_101611 yep i found the paper the other day from when I had WIC last year. Maybe it's different here in Florida, but it says no juice before 1.
  • Wow. @ericak22 well my son is 4 and perfectly fine. Ive been giving my lo juice since 3.5 months for constipation. Half juice half water.
  • @Steph_Due_101611 it also says to give baby water from 6months on..which I find it be a little strange. I gave my son apple prune juice when he was 2 months old for constipation.
  • It's all up to your discretion. It's not necessary under a year, but I give my 7 month old watered down juice occasionally. The cold juice in his nuk sippy nipple helps when he is teething. :)
  • Thanks everyone! Do I find the juice in baby section?
  • How often should I give her sum??
  • Every couple of days is fine. Try to avoid putting it in a bottle and instead a stage one sippy so baby can get adjusted to drinking out of one :)
  • With my first son 4 years ago, Wic gave me vouchers for juice at 6 months old I believe. It could have been 4 months, but either way, your lo is old enough if you choose to do it.
  • My baby loves those gerber juices my doctor said it was ok at.4 months just not to give him adult juice only the gerber
  • edited March 2012
    Good for you, @ta2edblondie! :)
  • I found this for you: