ADHD - Looking for Opinions, and Self/Future Children

edited March 2011 in Military moms
I have had recruiters for both the Navy and the Air Force (Active Duty and Reserves) contacting me through the mail and via phone calls. Apparently it has to do with my high testing scores, along with the fact I am a Nursing student being the biggest selling point for them. Given my fiance is now enlisted with the Army, I was not as interested as they hoped. However, I still decided to go ahead and research the options before totally dismissing either of them.

You learn something new every day - I did not realize the fact that I was diagnosed with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in December would have the high likelihood to disqualify me from any military branch! :O This is not just limited to those who have been recently diagnosed, but who, at any point, have been diagnosed.

In order to qualify for enlistment, I would have to follow several steps leading up to a medical review board in order to be considered for processing. Even then, it can be a very touch-and-go ordeal, depending on who is involved and where you are enlisting.

A potential recruit has to be off of his or her medicine for a year or more prior to enlisting, with documentation of doctor's authorization of approval to cease medication. During MEPS, a recruit should demonstrate no signs of ADHD (no impulsiveness or inattentiveness, being the two biggest key traits looked for); this gives the recruit a potential of being processed without a doctor's waiver. He/she will still require a full medical review. However, if the recruit was diagnosed during school, a recruit may still need a doctor's waiver along with a school transcript of before and after being on, then off, medicine, along with a review by the branch's medical department. All of this does not guarantee processing - one can still be denied enlistment.