Midwife questions - UK

edited March 2011 in UK
hello, I know it probably varies but just trying to get an idea of when you first saw your midwife - and also what goes on in the first meeting? I presume they do bloods and weight of me and stuff but just wondered if they listen to heartbeat or anything like that? I am a first time amateur at this and the time is going sooooo slooooow!! Any advice appreciated. thanks :)

Comments

• I called the midwife as soon as i found out i was pregnant she seen me a week later yes she done bloods && weighted me i was only 11 weeks pregnant so she book me in for my scan at 14 weeks i had that then heard baby heart beat at 18 weeks :) x
  • Cool thanks, sounds stupid but how do u know who to call? I kind of hoped after going to my gp one would just call me? lol.
    I am hoping my first scan will be on the 12th week, dont think i can bear waiting any longer! Cant wait to hear a heart beat, cant imagine how good that must feel :) x
  • I had that problem lol i went and seen my doctor first & he was stupid didn't do anything lol so i called back up and said can i make an appointment with the midwife & they just booked me in :) i had too wait a couple of weeks for my scan because there was no spaces! X
  • Cool thanks i might give them another call. To be fair the doctor may have explained it all to me when i went but i was so hyper having just found out i think i was just going whoop whoop and not listening, having to transfer to a small doctors surgery now ive moved so midwife will from hospital whereas old docs had their own midwife which would have been easier! :bz
  • Most doctors have there own midwife anyway once you've seen her things should move along pretty quick :) congrats anyways && good luck!! x x
  • Thank you :) i think its just slow until i know there is actually a baby in there and not just a missing prawn or something!
    Good luck to u too and thanks for the advice :) x