Virtual Baby Shower - What Do You Think?

edited June 2011 in Baby showers
I have a dilemma, but think I found a solution and was curious what you guys think.

Long story short, I am in California and my good friends and family are back in Wisconsin. My family and I are not on good terms, largely because my mom causes me alot of stress (I miscarried when she came to visit me over Christmas), so going home does not feel good to me right now because I don't want to be near her. Not to mention, no one in my family has offered to throw me a shower, but all my good friends have offered and basically said, "you need to have this special day".

So, I am a web designer and I thought - why not have a virtual shower. I could build a site where people can post new mommy tips, well wishes, or even guess how much the baby will weigh. I thought I could also post a registry and maybe mail out shower favors to my friends. Thought I could also blog about the pregnancy and basically share with the people I love so I don't feel so "left out" and they get to participate in thisntime in my life.

What do you guys think? Any thoughts or tips?

I really want to at least have something as no one offered to throw me a wedding shower. Also had to cancel my wedding and elope in Greece because of my family messing up the event. Just want to make this time special and not let my family ruin it.

Comments

• edited June 2011
    Forgot to mention, I am 20 weeks and expecting a boy :). So, have a *little* time to get something together.
  • A good friend of mine is doing something like that cause alot of her famy lives in other states and if they send gifts she wants them to be ablevto see her open them.. She also has a blog and even has recorded her ultrasounds.. If my friends and family wasn't around i would probally do the samw thing. I love the idea..