elective c-cection vs natural

edited June 2011 in Just for Fun
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2008130/Why-Posh-right-push-Caesareans-dangerous-natural-births.html

This seems a bit off to me. That a ccection is just as healthy for baby as natural birth. Anyone else have an opinion on the topic?

Comments

• I'm not a doctor, but I think that c sections are a pretty healthy way to give birth. I really, really don't want one because I don't want to have an incision to take care of and since this baby will probably be my only child, I want to experience a natural vaginal delivery. Ideally, c sections should only be done in life threatening situations and that's the only way I'd have one. The fact is, babies are born healthy and safely via c section. I'm of the belief that if my body can do this on its own, why not? I'm built for it and I'm confident that I can do this my way ;)
  • I think women should do research themselves and not just rely on everything their OB says. If its medically necessary, get a c section. But I don't like how they push it on women and misinform them.
  • edited June 2011
    My thinking is that when the babe gets squeezed through the birth canal it would help with all the fluids and such. Pushing them in a puddle like a tube of toothpaste so the babys body didn't have to work so hard to transition to air. That may sound a little crazy on paper but it makes sense in my head lol
  • The risks of csections r numerous but there is so much info.to sift.thru. here's another link.comparing vbac to multiple csections.
    www.givingbirthwithconfidence.org/2-2/a-womans-guide-to-vbac/weighing-the-pros-and-cons/