when did u start your leave?

edited July 2011 in August 2011
I'm curious to see when others had their last day of work before baby was due.

I'm just shy of 4 weeks away and I don't know when to "pull the plug". I'm an infant toddler teacher and am on my feet all day, lifting babys over 20 lbs, going from standing to sittiong back to standing a lot, among a lot of other things. I don't want to be too much of a wimp but I also don't want to overdue it.. I'm already ready to take my leave but I know I can't yet. Just not sure when I should take it.

I have to give my boss a 2 week notice before I leave so I'm tryna figure out when to tell her.

Comments

• I will be working until I pop. That is my personal preference though. I teach third grade and I am due September 4...I just need to get my classroom set up and running smoothly before I just peace out! Good luck to you! 8-X
  • Newmommy817 Im also a toddler teacher so I feel your pain. Im not due until 10/16 & im already ready! Im thinking 3 weeks before. I'd try to stick it out longer if I had a desk job but im swollen & sore at the end of the day now. How are you feeling?
  • @els1101 I was ready a long time ago lol. But I needed the money I have no saved time so when I go I'm not getting paid. Big bummer but what ever. I seem tp get frustrated a lot more because of the soreness and swolenness. I had my dr wright a note that I can't lift over 15 lbs. And this heat wave is killing me
  • Ugh sounds like we're in the same boat. Yep this has been an extra rough week w/ the heat. At least there's an end in sight for you. I'll have to look into a Dr's note. You're a tough cookie for lasting that long. I hope I have it in me at 36 weeks!
  • You are brave! I stopped working at 34 weeks I couldn't stand the painful swelling in my feet and ankles! I'm due august 2nd.