thoughts on first trimester diagnostic tests for birth defects?

2»

Comments

• I b et they are doing a serum test which does nt say if ur babty for sure will have a genetic deffect, but the possibility of you being a carrier..its just a simple blood test.
  • I did the u/s and the first blood test a few weeks ago. Dad was gone to ntc for training. April 11 is the next blood test then two weeks later results. If the genetic test says I am a carrier for cf then dad will have to be tested too.
  • I'm doing the Nuchal & the Amnio. I just want to be prepared if something is in fact wrong. My sister is thankful everyday that she had one, or else she wouldn't have known her daughter's trachea wasn't connected. These doctors won't urge you to do the test unless they have a reason to. But, they do have to make you aware of the fact that they are there, & available to you if you so choose. I am a nurse, & I know a doctor will not force you to have you do a test they don't think is necessary.
  • My sister did it and they told her my nephew would have Downs, he turned out fine. No Downs just a healthy baby boy. It just added stress to her pregnancy cuz they thought he had Downs
  • I'm not having any done as my fiancee an I talked about it an decided at the end of the day no matter what we wouldn't terminate so we didn't want to add stress to ourselves thinking what if were that 1!? I think it depends on what action you would take before u decide in having the tests?
  • I didnt have to pay for mine. I had it done and the results were negative. So my baby boy is fine(:
  • The question you have to ask yourselves is would you want an abortion if they found something wrong? My husband and I are not having any genetic testing done, because we would not have an abortion if there was something wrong. So, finding out ahead of the birth would just lead you to have unnecessary stress ahead of time. Also, alot of those tests have risks to the fetus and are not 100% accurate.