Pink breastmilk!! Pic included!!

edited May 2012 in Breastfeeding
Hello ladies I rarely post here but I'm like freaking out!! I need advice!! I've been breastfeeding for 6 1/2 months now and this has never happened to me before!! So right now I just started pumping and my milk is pink!! only from my left breast and I notice my breast hurts a little too. Has this happened to anyone before? I'm not planning on letting my lo drink it! I'm going to see if I can post a pic on here hope it works!
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr66/frankcyn/d8097f03.jpg

Comments

• Its never happened to me but wow! Save it ans take it to the Dr
  • edited May 2012
    I have been exclusively pumping for 7 months. the only time my milk look like that its when my nipple is cracked n when I pump depending on what level suction it bleeds n the blood will turn ur milk pink.
  • Yep. Looks like blood I milk. Did you have any pain? A duct could've clogged.
  • I had this w my first. Its blood. My daughter made my nipple bleed which is normal for sum women but I wouldn't let ur baby drink it. Dnt freak out. Ur fine. On bright side it looks like u made strawberry milk. Lol jk. Just tryin to cheer u up.
  • I had this a few times when I was bf. There is no harm in giving it to your lo. Only a couple drops will turn your milk pink. It wont effect the flavour or be harmful in anyway as your body makes milk from your blood (I was told this from the Australian breastfeeding association)
    Use some nipple cream to help heal any damaged tissue. If it continues or gets worse get yourself checked by your doc
  • Yeah I was bleeding while feeding/pumping and my health visitor said its fine for baby to drink!
  • edited May 2012
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Wow never seen this hope u get better
  • I've had green and purple tints but never pink or this dark. Crazy!
  • Its just blood. Its safe. I had this happen before.