Have you had several miscariages and no real reason why? It could be MTHFR.

There is a genetic disorder called MTHFR that not too many people or even doctors know about. If you have been unsuccessful in carrying a healthy pregnancy I suggest you get tested for it. It is a simple blood test and there is treatment. I know because I had 5 miscarriages and got tested.....it came back positive. Once I got on the treatment I am successfully in my 32nd week of pregnancy with a healthy baby girl. Treatment is very simple. I will be creating another discussion that will talk more in detail about MTHFR, the cause, treatment, side effects, etc. I'm not an expert....just a desperate mom to be that did tons of research. There isn't a lot of research out there or much talk about it at all so I want to share what I know, have tried myself, have learned.... and make more people aware and hopefully help someone else.....
Check back soon for my post.

Comments

• Wow, I'd love more info ... I've had 11 miscarriages, 2 preterm baby boys which passed away & only 1 living child .. I'm currently 6 weeks pregnant and full of hope
  • First off, start taking a folic acid supplement with a vitamin B complex along side of your prenatal vitamins. It won't hurt even if your results come out negative. Next, call your OBGYN and ask them to test you for MTHFR. If they won't, find a doctor that will. I will post more info on this topic soon but you could check out my other discussion on support for people with MTHFR for now. Please start the supplements ASAP. Good luck and I will talk to you soon.
  • WOW... I'm really happy that your putting this information out there. I will definitely pass this on to my friends ttc.
  • Here is a good link to check out....it gives a lot of detail on how MTHFR can effect you and your baby....

http://circ.ahajournals.org/cgi/content/full/111/19/e289