MATERNITY LEAVE/FMLA/BONDING WITH YOUR BABY....HELPPP PLEAASE!!!

edited October 2011 in First time moms
I HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE RUN AROUND! I AM COMPLETELY LOST AND CONFUSED

I WORK AS A PART TIME ASSISTANT MANAGER FOR A CLOTHING COMPANY..SINCE I'M NOT FULL TIME I DON'T GET SICK TIME PAID VACATION OR HOLIDAYS NO BENEFITS WHAT SO EVER SO ALL I WILL RECEIVED IS STATE DISABILITY

I THOUGHT I WAS CLEAR ON EVERYTHING FOR THE THIRD TIME BT ONCE AGAIN I WAS WRONG!

I THOUGHT THAT WHEN MY JOB WROTE MY LETTER TO SUBMIT TO HUMAN RESOURCES AT WORK THAT HE WOULD B GIVING ME THE 12 WEEKS OFF..
THERE SAYIN HE ONLI GIVES ME 6 WEEKS N THE OTHER 6 WEEKS I HAVE TO GO THROUGH MY JOB WHICH IS BONDING WITH MY BABY?? IDK I'M SO LOST

PLEASE SOMEONE CLEAR THIS UP FOR ME
WHAT AM I ENTITLED TO? WHO DO I GO TO FOR WHAT
I WANTED AS MUCH TIME WITH MY BABY SO I WORKED ALL THE WAY UP UNTIL THE END OF MY PREGNANCY. YESTERDAY WAS MY LAST DAY N I'M DUE ON THE 11TH
I FEEL STUPID THAT EVERYTHING IS STILL NOT WORKED OUT

ANY ADVICE OR INFO PLEASEEE
BTW I LIVE IN CALIFORNIA

Comments

• Bump. Sorry hun im confused by this too. And also what is state disability?
  • You get 6 weeks for post partum and recovery for vaginal and 8 weeks for c section. But I think their saying your work will need to approve any additional time up to the 12 for bonding with the baby. I'm from NH and we do things a lil different. But that's what I get out of it.
  • What @kailiasmomma05 said is my understanding also.
  • @314babymama1120 don't quote me on this as my understanding have been wrong before bt I you pay into state disability they take it out of each paycheck. You later get to collect on it by submitting the paper work. You can print it off the computer I got it from member services at my hospital and had to submit it bk the day before my last day
    They said to receive a payment it will take up to a month..I think you receive payments 4 weeks prior to delivering n 6 weeks after bt once again I could b confused